Dinner Menu

WELCOME

The building, now known as the "Back Behind Saloon Restaurant" was previously owned by Ed Dwyer, a merchant marine and naval officer. Constructed in the early 1900's, the building was moved to it's present location upon the reconstruction of U.S. 4. In 1958, the Killington Ski Area was opened by Preston Smith, an ambitious ski area visionary from Connecticut. At that time the building provided lodging for skiers in winter and good times for summer visitors as well. In 1973, three friends from Long Island moved to Vermont with a goal to create what you see now. Eight months before opening on July 5, 1974, renovations began. An old barn sacrificed it's siding and beams for much of the interior design. The caboose, a dining area favorite was built over 100 years ago. The unique fireplace was made with collected stones including fossils and petrified wood. The brightly colored juke box is an authentic 1946 post war model 1015 from Wurlitzer Music Machine Company. The magnificent stained glass bar back was rescued from an old ice cream soda fountain shop in Methuen, Massachusetts. There are many treasured pieces here, so please browse and enjoy.

WebmastersCon & Gerry Zendzian
RETURN TO THE BACK BEHIND HOME PAGE

yellowgreen THE CREW yellow BIRTHDAYS grey ENTREES midpurple NEWSLETTER blue PHOTOS blue OLD PHOTOS blue SPECIALS blue WELCOME

LINKS TO AREA LODGING AND MORE
Val Roc Motel
Salt Ash Inn
First Stop Ski and Bike Shop
CedarBrook Motor-Inn
Fox & Pheasant Inn
LINK TO WEATHER
Killington, Vermont