The building, now known as the "Back Behind Saloon Restaurant" was previously
owned by Ed Dwyer, a merchant marine and naval officer. Constructed in the early
1900's, the building was moved to it's present location upon the reconstruction
of U.S. 4. In 1958, the Killington Ski Area was opened by Preston Smith, an
ambitious ski area visionary from Connecticut. At that time the building provided
lodging for skiers in winter and good times for summer visitors as well. In
1973, three friends from Long Island moved to Vermont with a goal to create what
you see now.
Eight months before opening on July 5, 1974, renovations began. An old barn
sacrificed it's siding and beams for much of the interior design. The caboose,
a dining area favorite was built over 100 years ago. The unique fireplace
was made with collected stones including fossils and petrified wood. The
brightly colored juke box is an authentic 1946 post war model 1015 from
Wurlitzer Music Machine Company. The magnificent stained glass bar back
was rescued from an old ice cream soda fountain shop in Methuen, Massachusetts.
There are many treasured pieces here, so please browse and enjoy.